Former bureaucrat Brahm Dutt is the chairman of Yes Bank

MUMBAI: The RBI has approved the appointment of former bureaucrat Brahm Dutt as the non-executive chairman of Yes Bank. The bank had sent the proposal in this regard to the RBI last month.

The top post fell vacant after Ashok Chawla resigned as Yes Bank's chairman in November 2018 after being named in a CBI investigation.

Dutt has been appointed to the post for one-and-a-half years, till July 04, 2020, when he turns 70, said a statement issued by Yes Bank. He has been on the bank's board since July 2013 as an independent director and was part of most sub-committees of the board. He also chairs the nomination and remuneration committee. Besides Dutt, Yes Bank's board also includes former IRDAI chief TS Vijayan, who was appointed in December, Mukesh Sabharwal, Subhash Kalia, Ajai Kumar, Pratima Sheorey, Uttam Prakash Agarwal and Rana Kapoor (MD and CEO).